2018 Building of the Year - Submit An Entry

Do you know an outstanding building that deserves to be recognized?  Use the form below to submit it for the Building of the Year Awards!

All completed forms and supporting materials must reach NFBA by Friday, December 7, 2018.


Indicates required field

If the building is selected as a winner, how would you like the names listed on the plaque?

The 2018 Contest

The 2018 Building of the Year contest consists of 24 award categories plus a Judges’ Award.

NFBA’s awards program allows builder member companies to compete against builder member companies of comparable size. Each of the 12 main award categories has two divisions: (1) builders who belong to the NFBA membership categories of $0–6 million in annual gross volume, and (2) builders who belong to the NFBA membership categories of over $6 million in annual gross volume. NFBA will validate all entries by confirming the company’s membership category.

Winners in both divisions of all categories receive equal recognition and benefits.


Building Categories

Please select the one award category your entry best qualifies for.

Award Category (Select One)* NFBA Membership Category (Annual Gross Volume)
Agricultural Storage/Workshops $0-6 million $6+ million
Commercial Buildings (under 5,000 sq.ft)** $0-6 million $6+ million
Commercial Buildings (5,000-10,000 sq.ft)** $0-6 million $6+ million
Commercial Buildings (over 10,000 sq.ft)** $0-6 million $6+ million
Hobby Shops $0-6 million $6+ million
Horse Barns/Facilities (under 5,000 sq. ft.) $0-6 million $6+ million
Horse Barns/Facilities (5,000 sq. ft. and over) $0-6 million $6+ million
Residential Buildings (homes, apartments, other single- or multifamily dwellings) $0-6 million $6+ million
Institutional Buildings (churches, schools, nonprofit organization offices, government buildings, other public buildings) $0-6 million $6+ million
Livestock Facilities $0-6 million $6+ million
Retrofitted/Remodeled Buildings (renovation or remodeling of existing buildings) $0-6 million $6+ million
Suburban Garages (residential garages only) $0-6 million $6+ million

*Note: The judges reserve the right to move an entry into a category that is, in their view, a better fit for the entry. **Commercial buildings include retail establishments such as shops, stores, repair shops, hotels, motels, warehouses, and retail outlets. You may enter industrial buildings in the Commercial Buildings category; however, do not enter commercial buildings in that category if they fit in a more specific category such as Agricultural Storage/Workshops or Institutional Buildings.


Judges’ Award

Participants may not submit entries for the Judges’ Award. The judges will select an exceptional entry that they believe deserves special recognition and has not won first place in any other category. All participants’ entries will be considered for the Judges’ Award.


Please use this section to describe your Building of the Year entry. Please be as specific as possible in the space provided. Winners’ information will be used in a press release, awards ceremony recognition, and an article in an NFBA publication.

1. Building use, importance and newsworthiness:

2. Unique features: 

3. Post-frame advantage: 

4. Additional information: Provide the manufacturer’s name and specific products used for the building components listed below. This information, along with photos of your winning building, will appear in an NFBA publication.


Files must be a maximum of 2 MB, and only JPEG, GIF or PNG

I, the undersigned, give permission to the National Frame Building Association of Chicago, Illinois, its agents, successors, clients, and purchasers of its services, to use my name, testimonials, images (whether print, digital, motion, or television), submitted documents, and other material, in any legal manner whatsoever.

By signing this form, I agree that the building owner of this property has granted permission for me to submit this entry in the NFBA Building of the Year contest.

To finalize your submission, be sure you submit your Entry Fee. Click here to pay online Or you can send payment via postal mail to: 

NFBA – Building of the Year c/o Awards
8735 W Higgins Ste 300
Chicago, IL 60631